Jess Parrish Medical Foundation and Parrish Medical Center Auxiliary Awards 21 Scholarships for a Brighter Future

Jun 01, 2017 at 03:30 pm by Staff

TITUSVILLE, FLA, June 1, 2017--Jess Parrish Medical Foundation (JPMF) and Parrish Medical Center (PMC) Auxiliary awarded $36,500 in scholarships to 21 high school and college students pursuing a career in a medical or healthcare field. Both organizations have combined their scholarship programs to make a greater impact for those pursuing careers in the medical field that will one day provide healing care to our community.

The 2016-2017 school year scholarship winners were: Lisa Patel and Katie Yakubowski - Astronaut High School; Andrew Stewart and Tram-Anh Tran - Edgewood Junior Senior High School; Abby Recicar - Homeschooled; Carly Ebeling - Space Coast Junior Senior High School; Mason Bollinger, Brenden Chamberlain, Jake Geyer, Mikayla January, Illyssa Jaraplasan, Jessica Matteson, Janay Mayes and Makayla Rymkos - Titusville High School; Lynette Gonzalez, Minh-Chau Le, Kyle Sellers, Kari Shaver and Sarah Violette - University of Central Florida; Alisa Mendez - University of Florida; and Lindsey Hartt - University of South Florida.

Bill Terry, Scholarship Committee chair, has been volunteering at Parrish Medical Center for more than 20 years and has helped PMC provide healing experiences for families and our community. By donating more than 29,000 hours of volunteer service and participating on the JPMF Board of Directors since 2007, Terry is working with PMC to improve, transform, and save lives.

"Thanks to our partnership with PMC Auxiliary we were able to streamline the application process and provide more substantial scholarships to recipients," said Terry. "The Scholarship Committee takes their task of evaluating the applicants very seriously. It is with great pleasure we are able to award these scholarships to such deserving students. I'd also like to say a special thank you to Terry and Barbara Terhune for making a $1,000 gift toward the scholarship fund so more students could be awarded." Other committee members are Santi Bulnes, Debbie Cox, Dot Hudson, Terry Lee, Patricia Manning, Ed.D., Bill McCarthy, Roger Miller, Ron Norris, Howard Rinker, DDS; Philip Simpson, Barbara Terhune and Michael Van Heusen.

"When we partner together and invest in programs that support future generations of healthcare professionals, the entire community benefits. I want to thank the committee, applicants and our benefactors for investing in a brighter future," said Terry.

Sections: Grand Rounds