Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Central Florida Caucus Shines During FMA Annual Meeting

Central Florida Caucus
Dr. Andrew Cooke delivers speech during FMA Annual Meeting.
Dr. Benjamin Kaplan requests support for keeping patient satisfaction out of incentives.
Dr. Kirsten Carter testifies to the Legislative Committee.
Dr. Brian Nobie recognizes Mariquita Anderson as FMA Alliance President.
By Fraser Cobbe
Orange County Medical Society
Seminole County Medical Society

Physicians throughout the region were extremely well represented during the 2017 Florida Medical Association at the Annual Meeting, August 4th-6th at Universal Studios Sapphire Falls Resort in Orlando. Our delegation consisted of physicians nominated from the Lake/Sumter, Orange, and Seminole County Medical Societies. Each of the delegates dedicated several days to prepare and execute the strategic directives of the respective organizations. It was a very successful meeting and our resolutions, passed by the FMA House of Delegates, will assist in directing the legislative agenda for the next year.

Resolutions submitted by the OCMS which passed were:

1. 17-112 Improving Health Outcomes by Addressing Air Quality in Florida.
2. 17-304 Recognition and Reimbursement for POLST (physician orders for life sustaining treatment) referred to the Board of Governors for Action.
3. 17-316 Out of Network Billing Principles.
4. 17-402 Keep Patient Satisfaction Separate from Reimbursement and Incentives.

John Katapodis, MD, a cardiologist, was installed as the 141st President of the FMA in a non-contested election. Mariquita Anderson, from Orange County, was installed as the President of the FMA Alliance. Ashley Booth-Norse, MD, an ER physician from Jacksonville, was elected FMA Vice-Speaker.

The Central Florida Caucus was extremely pleased to see Andrew Cooke, MD, from the OCMS, elected as an FMA Alternate Delegate to the AMA. Andrew is a dedicated emerging leader in the OCMS who will serve our community well for years to come. The Central Florida Caucus was also well represented on the Reference Committees. Dr. Steven Rosenberg served on the Health, Education & Public Policy Committee. Dr. Shelley Glover, Dr. Larry Halperin, and Dr. Charles Chase served on the Legislative Committee.

Jason Pirozzolo, DO, and Melissa Shaughnessy, DO, will continue their service on the FMA Board of Governors for the coming year in their respective positions as District Representative and Young Physician Section leaders.
Finally, as reported by Orlando Medical News last week, one of our Medical Students at UCF College of Medicine, Jessica Walsh O'Sullivan, was recognized with the Sanford A. Mullen, M.D. Award for Outstanding Community Service by a Medical Student.

Dr. Charles Chase Chair of the OCMS Delegation said, "It was a pleasure to serve as the OCMS Delegation Chair this year. Serving as a Delegate to the FMA is a valuable service to our profession and helps us all do what we do best......practice medicine. I would encourage my colleagues in the community to consider serving on the delegation next year."

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: